October Sky – Movies for Dads and Kids (Teens)

Homer’s father loves the traditional way. Strict and unbending in his discipline, he is fiercely discouraging when Homer dreams about becoming a rocket scientist because he wants to protect his son from disappointment.

And he was right. The odds were against Homer. Every man in their small town ended up becoming miners, and Homer wasn’t even good at maths to begin with.

Homer struggles between his father’s approval and pursuing his dream. He eventually goes against the wishes of his father and through hard work and creativity, makes it as a rocket scientist.

This is a movie to watch if you want to talk to your teen about defying authority figures, courage and hard work that needed to beat the odds and succeed.

Homer’s quotable quote:

“Dad, I may not be the best, but I come to believe that I got it in me to be somebody in this world. And it’s not because I’m so different from you either, it’s because I’m the same. I mean, I can be just as hard-headed, and just as tough. I only hope I can be as good a man as you.”

The video is available at the National Library.

Categories: At Home, Free, Indoors, Short, Shows, TV & Movies

Leave a Reply

